NEWS 147

Proceedings of the Milton Society of America

Marriott Metro Center, 775 12th St. NW, Washington, D. C. December 28, 2005

Secretary: A. C. Labriola, Dept. of English, Duquesne University, Pittsburgh, PA 15282 (E mail: Labriola@duq.edu)

The officers and Executive Committee met in a preliminary session at 4:00 PM at the Marriott Metro Center. Present were Edward Jones (President), Laura L. Knoppers (Vice President), Labriola (Secretary), Diana Treviño Benet (Treasurer) and the following members of the Executive Committee: Margaret Arnold, Stephen B. Dobranski, and Thomas Luxon. Excused were Gardner Campbell, Angelica Duran, and Jeffrey Shoulson.

- 1. OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. The following members of the society were nominated for offices: Laura L. Knoppers for President; Paul Stevens for Vice President; and Mary Fenton and Gregory Machacek for three-year membership (2006-2008) on the Executive Committee, replacing Stephen B. Dobranski and Jeffrey Shoulson.
- 2. TREASURER'S REPORT. Benet indicated that the assets and net worth of the society as of July 1, 2005, were \$11,500.00. Benet and Labriola stressed the importance of donations and space advertisements as sources of revenue in order to stabilize the cost of the annual dinner at \$55.00. Benet will monitor the added revenues and report whether they are adequate to cover the mounting costs of the dinner and the increased expenses of printing the booklet, postage, and the like.
- 3. COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARLY AWARDS. Benet indicated that Joseph Wittreich will serve as chair. She has a list of other distinguished Miltonists (chiefly past recipients of the awards) as eventual replacements for the present committee members, Joan S. Bennett and John Leonard. All officers and members of the Executive Committee are urged to be in contact with Benet to nominate Miltonists to serve on the committee.

- 4. SECRETARY'S REPORT. Labriola indicated that his announcements are printed on pages 5-6 of the annual booklet. He announced the names of the members of the society who are recently deceased: Patrick G. Hogan, Roland M. Frye, Sister Hilary Yoggerst, Sister Hilda Bonham.
- 5. OPEN MEETINGS AT MLA 2006 in Philadelphia. The following open meetings, each 75 minutes long, were approved:
 - A. "John Milton: A General Session," with Laura L. Knoppers presiding, B. "Milton's Readers," with Stephen B. Dobranski presiding.

NOTE THE FOLLOWING RULES FOR THE ABOVE-MENTIONED MEETINGS:

- A. The chairs should have 8-page, 20-min. papers by 15 March (hard copy or e-mail attachment). Usually three papers are chosen, and the chair may appoint a respondent; or two longer papers may be selected, with or without a respondent; or a panel discussion might be organized. It is essential, however, to provide time for questions and comments by attendees.
- B The chair must submit the names of participants, academic affiliations, and titles of presentations to Labriola no later than April 1st. Labriola's E-mail (Labriola@duq.edu).
- C. Labriola will place an announcement concerning the open meetings in the upcoming *MLA Newsletter*, Benet will also include notice in her upcoming letter to all members; and the chairs of the open meetings are urged to publicize in other ways.
- D. All presenters must be members of MLA. If not, they must join by April 1st unless their specialty is something other than language and literature, in which cases they must seek, through Labriola, special permission for their participation from the MLA Executive Director.
- E. Chairs are encouraged to be in contact with each other to be sure that they are not considering duplicate papers and to call attention to papers that may seem more suitable for the other's open meeting.

NEWS 149

Approximately 85 members and guests attended the dinner and meeting at which Jones presided.

- 1. The nominees for office (see item 1 above) were elected by acclamation.
- 2. Labriola announced the two open meetings at MLA 2006 (see item 5 above).
- 3. The James Holly Hanford Awards for distinguished essays recognized the excellence of the following: David Quint, "Fear of Falling: Icarus, Phaethon, and Lucretius in *Paradise Lost,*" *Renaissance Quarterly*, 57, 3 (2004), 315-345; John Rogers, "Transported Touch: the fruit of marriage in *Paradise Lost,*" *Milton and Gender*, ed. Catherine Gimelli Martin (NY: Cambridge UP, 2004), pp. 115-132. The James Holly Hanford Award for a distinguished book was not presented.
- 4. The Irene Samuel Memorial Award recognized the excellence of the following edited commentary on Milton's epic: *Paradise Last, 1668-1968*, ed. Earl Miner, William Moeck, Steven Jablonski (Lewisburg: Bucknell UP, 2004).
- 5. The featured address, "A Miltonic Life," was given by Gordon Campbell.
- 6. Edward Jones, Professor of English, Oklahoma State University, cited Gordon Campbell, Professor of Renaissance Studies, University of Leicester as Honored Scholar of 2005.

At the executive session after the general business meeting, the following were present: Knoppers (President), Stevens (Vice President), Labriola (Secretary), Benet (Treasurer), Arnold, Campbell, Duran, Fenton, Luxon, and Machacek of the Executive Committee.

- 1. Labriola and Benet were reappointed Secretary and Treasurer, respectively.
- 2. Benet was empowered to choose a site for the 2006 dinner and meeting in Philadelphia.
 - 3. David Loewenstein was the nominee for Honored Scholar of 2006.