## Proceedings of the Milton Society of America

#### W Chicago City Center, 172 W. Adams St., Chicago December 28, 2007

### Secretary: A. C. Labriola, Dept. of English, Duquesne University, Pittsburgh, PA 15282 (Labriola@duq.edu)

The officers and Executive Committee met in a preliminary session at 4:00 PM at the W Chicago City Center. Present were Paul Stevens (President), Kristin Pruitt (Vice President), Labriola (Secretary), Diana Treviño Benet (Treasurer) and the following members of the Executive Committee: Margaret Arnold, Mary Fenton, Thomas Luxon, William Shullenberger, and Nicholas von Maltzahn. Excused was Gregory Machacek.

1. OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. The following members of the society were nominated for offices: Kristin Pruitt for President; Tom Luxon for Vice President; and for three-year membership (2008-2010) on the Executive Committee Ken Hiltner and Nigel Smith, succeeding Margaret Arnold and Tom Luxon.

2. TREASURER'S REPORT. Benet indicated that the assets and net worth of the society as of July 1, 2007, were \$11,529.59. Benet and Labriola stressed the importance of donations and space advertisements as sources of revenue in order to stabilize the cost of the annual dinner at \$55.00. This year, there were 12 full-page advertisements.

3. COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARLY AWARDS. The chair of the Committee on Scholarly Awards is David Loewenstein, and other members are Barbara K. Lewalski and John Rogers.

4. SECRETARY'S REPORT. Labriola indicated that his announcements are printed on pages 5-7 of the annual booklet. He announced the names of the members of the society who are recently deceased: Kelsie

#### NEWS

Harder, Gregory Bredbeck, and Michael Fixler.

He also reported on proposed changes in the structure of the MLA, changes that would reduce the number of open meetings sponsored by allied organizations from two to one. He indicated that the Milton Society of America will join with other allied organizations, most notably the ones dealing with literature before 1800, to contest this proposal.

5. OPEN MEETINGS AT MLA 2008 in San Francisco. The following open meetings, each 75 minutes long, were approved:

A. "John Milton at 400: A General Session (I)," Kristin Pruitt presiding;

B. "John Milton at 400: A General Session (II)," Margaret Arnold presiding

# NOTE THE FOLLOWING RULES FOR THE ABOVE-MENTIONED MEETINGS:

A. The chairs should receive papers, not longer than 8 double-spaced pages, by e-mail not later than 15 March; or at least a 1-page abstract. Usually three papers are chosen, and the chair may appoint a respondent; or two longer papers may be selected, with or without a respondent; or a panel discussion might be organized. It is essential, however, to provide time for questions and comments by attendees.

B The chairs must submit the names of participants, academic affiliations, and titles of presentations to Labriola not later than April 1st (Labriola@duq.edu).

C. Labriola will place an announcement concerning the open meetings in the upcoming *MLA Newsletter*; Jameela Lares, who succeeds Diana Treviño Benet as treasurer, will also include notice in her upcoming letter to all members; and the chairs of the open meetings are urged to publicize in other ways.

D. All presenters must be members of MLA. If not, they must join by April 1st unless their specialty is something other than language and literature, in which case they must seek, through Labriola, special permission for their participation from the MLA Executive Director. E. Chairs are encouraged to be in contact with each other in order to coordinate the makeup of their programs.

6. The officers and Executive Committee deliberated on the possibility of a special program for the dinner and meeting in 2008, which is the 60th anniversary of the Milton Society (1948-2008) and the 400<sup>th</sup> anniversary of Milton's birth (1608-2008). Ideas that were considered include the following: (1) an invitation to Philip Pullman to speak about Milton's influence on his writing. Milton's influence on children's literature and popular culture would thereby be stressed. (2) brief presentations by previous honored scholars of the society, who would recount highlights or memorable experiences from the dinner-meetings.

\*\*\*\*\*

Approximately 75 members and guests attended the dinner and meeting at which Stevens presided.

1. The nominees for office (see item 1 above) were elected by acclamation.

2. Labriola announced that Diana Treviño Benet was stepping down as treasurer after a decade of service. The attendees gave a standing ovation as a gesture of gratitude.

3. Labriola announced the two open meetings at MLA 2008 (see item 5 above).

4. The James Holly Hanford Award for a distinguished book recognized the Excellence of Gordon Teskey's **Delirious Milton: The Fate of the Poet in Modernity** (Cambridge, MA: Harvard UP, 2006). The James Holly Hanford Awards for distinguished essays recognized the excellence of Daniel Shore's "Fit Though Few': **Eikonoklastes** and the Rhetoric of Audience," **Milton Studies** 45, ed. Albert C. Labriola (U of Pittsburgh Press, 2006), 129-148; and of Elizabeth Sauer's "Milton's Of True Religion, Protestant Nationhood, and the Negotiation of Liberty," **Milton Quarterly** 40.1 (March 2006), 1-19. NEWS

5. The Irene Samuel Memorial Award recognized the excellence of the multiauthor collection titled *Milton in the Age of Fish: Essays on Authorship, Text, and Terrorism*, ed. Michael Lieb and Albert C. Labriola (Duquesne UP, 2006).

6. The John T. Shawcross Award for a distinguished chapter on Milton in a monograph that covers other authors or engages topics that bear on seventeenth-century England recognized the excellence of Jason P. Rosenblatt's "Selden and Milton on Gods and Angels," in *Renaissance England's Chief Rabbi: John Selden* (Oxford UP, 2006), chapter 3 (pp. 74-92).

7. The featured address, "A Checkered Career: Fumbles, Foibles, and Luck," was given by Robert T. Fallon.

8. Albert C. Labriola, Acting Dean, McAnulty College & Graduate School of Liberal Arts, Duquesne University, cited Robert T. Fallon, Emeritus Professor of English, La Salle University, as Honored Scholar 2007.

\*\*\*\*\*

At the executive session after the general business meeting, the following were present: Pruitt (President), Luxon (Vice President), Labriola (Secretary), Lares (Treasurer), and the following members of the Executive Committee: Mary Fenton, Bill Shullenberger, Ken Hiltner, Nicholas von Maltzahn, Gregory Machacek. Excused was Nigel Smith.

1. Labriola was reappointed Secretary for 2008.

2. Jameela Lares succeeded Diana Treviño Benet as treasurer. Diana was praised for her decade of service. Lares was empowered to choose a site for the 2008 dinner and meeting in San Francisco.

3. Kristin Pruitt requested further recommendations for the special programat the dinner-meeting in 2008.